Loading Events

« All Events

  • This event has passed.

Author Talk – Rebecca Coffindaffer, Ampara Ortiz, NoNieqa Ramos

October 3 @ 7:00 pm - 8:30 pm

Join YA authors Rebecca Coffindaffer, Amparo Ortiz, and NoNieqa Ramos for a lively discussion about space, dragons, found family, and all things YA! The authors will be in conversation with Main Street Books owner Emily Hall Schroen.
CROWNCHASERS by Rebecca Coffindaffer:
A deadly competition for the throne will determine more than just the fate of the empire in this riveting duology opener, perfect for fans of The Hunger GamesAurora Rising, and Three Dark Crowns. Alyssa Farshot has spent her whole life trying to outrun her family legacy, even leaving behind the kingship and her uncle, the emperor, for a life of exploring. But when her dying uncle announces a crownchase—a search for the royal seal, hidden in the empire, that will determine the empire’s next ruler—Alyssa is thrust into her greatest, most dangerous adventure yet.
BLAZEWRATH GAMES by Amparo Ortiz:
Lana Torres has always preferred dragons to people. In a few weeks, sixteen countries will compete in the Blazewrath World Cup, a tournament where dragons and their riders fight for glory in a dangerous relay. Lana longs to represent her native Puerto Rico in their first ever World Cup appearance, and when Puerto Rico’s Runner–the only player without a dragon steed–is kicked off the team, she’s given the chance. But when she discovers that a former Blazewrath superstar has teamed up with the Sire–a legendary dragon who’s cursed into human form–the safety of the Cup is jeopardized. The pair are burning down dragon sanctuaries around the world and refuse to stop unless the Cup gets cancelled. All Lana wanted was to represent her country. Now, to do that, she’ll have to navigate an international conspiracy that’s deadlier than her beloved sport.
 
Order a copy of BLAZEWRATH GAMES here: https://mainstreetbooks.indielite.org/book/9781645670797
THE TRUTH IS by NoNieqa Ramos:
Fifteen-year-old Verdad doesn’t think she has time for love. She’s still struggling to process the recent death of her best friend, Blanca; dealing with the high expectations of her hardworking Puerto Rican mother and the absence of her remarried father; and keeping everyone at a distance. But when she meets Danny, a new guy at school–who happens to be trans–all bets are off. Verdad suddenly has to deal with her mother’s disapproval of her relationship with Danny as well as her own prejudices and questions about her identity, and Danny himself, who is comfortable in his skin but keeping plenty of other secrets.
 

Details

Date:
October 3
Time:
7:00 pm - 8:30 pm
Event Categories:
,

Main Street Books Event Guidelines:  Main Street Books is a locally owned, independent bookstore. We hope you’ll attend our events and have fun. If you would like a book signed, we ask that you consider purchasing your book from Main Street Books. Your support is appreciated and it show publishers that they should continue to send their authors to Main Street Books.

Did you miss an event, but still want an autographed copy? Fill out our Miss An Event form and we’ll help you make arrangements to purchase a signed book.

Still have questions? Contact us please.